Uncategorized /

Charlotte Prodger wins Turner Prize 2018

The prize was presented by author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie last night at Tate Britain

This post may contain affiliate links. Learn more


The 34th edition of the £25,000 Turner Prize 2018 was presented by author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and awarded to Charlotte Prodger on 4, December.

Charlotte Prodger wins Turner Prize 2018
Turner Prize 2018

The jury was proud of the timely and urgent nature of the Turner Prize 2018 shortlist. They also applauded the way that all four nominated artists, which included Forensic Architecture (an interdisciplinary team that includes architects, filmmakers, lawyers and scientists), Naeem Mohaiemen and Luke Willis Thompson, are committed to making a difference to the world today. The jury awarded the Turner Prize to Charlotte Prodger for her solo exhibition BRIDGIT / Stoneymollen Trail at Bergen Kunsthall. Using a smartphone, Prodger interweaves bodies, thoughts and landscape in her work. The jury admired the painterly quality of BRIDGIT and the attention it pays to art history. The work meanders through disparate associations ranging from JD Sports and standing stones to 1970s lesbian separatism and Jimi Hendrix’s sound recordist. They praised the way Prodger explores lived experience as mediated through technologies and histories.

13 of the Best Current Art Exhibitions in London

One of the best known prizes for the visual arts in the world, the Turner Prize aims to promote public debate around new developments in contemporary British art. The Prize, established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art, is awarded to a British artist for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 26 April 2018.

The members of the Turner Prize 2018 jury are Oliver Basciano, art critic and International Editor at ArtReview; Elena Filipovic, Director of Kunsthalle Basel; Lisa Le Feuvre, Executive Director of Holt-Smithson Foundation; and Tom McCarthy, novelist and Visiting Professor, Royal College of Art. The Chair of the jury is Alex Farquharson, Director, Tate Britain.

An exhibition of the four shortlisted artists is at Tate Britain until 6 January 2019.

Visit: tate.org