The Catey Awards: Raymond Blanc and Big Mamma Group Among Winners

By Ellie Smith

12 months ago

Who came out tops this year?

Often nicknamed the ‘Oscars of the hospitality industry,’ the Catey Awards are one of the most prestigious on the food calendar. This year’s winners were announced at a ceremony in London last night, with names including Raymond Blanc and Clare Smyth winning gold, alongside restaurants from the Big Mamma Group – the name behind buzzy restaurants like Carlotta and Jacuzzi.

The Catey Awards: Who Were This Year’s Winners?

A number of British chefs were celebrated in the 2023 Catey Awards. Blanc was awarded with The Ruby Catey, a one-off accolade created to mark the Cateys’ 40th anniversary, for ‘redefining British hospitality and setting the benchmark for delivering sustainable gastronomy during a stellar career spanning more than five decades.’

Raymond Blanc in the garden of Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Sustainable Hotel Award

Raymond Blanc at Le Manoir

The 2023 Chef Award, meanwhile, went to Gareth Ward, head chef of Ynyshir. Ward is no stranger to awards: Ynyshir recently came out tops in the National Restaurant Awards for the second year running. When presenting his Catey, the judges described Ward as a ‘maverick’ who had transformed fine dining.



Clare Smyth MBE, who heads up the three Michelin-starred Core by Clare Smyth in Notting Hill, won independent Restaurateur of the Year.

Scooping up The Special Award was Jeremy Goring, who was lauded for his efforts to help homeless people into roles of hospitality, which he did through the Hotel School. And Jason Atherton, who owns an array of restaurants all over the world, was presented with The International Award. 

Jacuzzi restaurant


On the restaurant side, Big Mamma Group was presented with group Restaurant of the Year for its collection of Italian-inspired trattorias. Founded by Tigrane Seydoux and Victor Lugger, Big Mamma Group was born in Paris, with East Mamma opening back in 2013. Over the years the group has expanded around Europe, with a number of restaurants dotted around London including recent openings Carlotta and Jacuzzi.

The Catey Awards are run by The Caterer, with winners chosen by a panel of industry experts. ‘This was a real milestone evening in the long history of the Cateys,’ said The Caterer’s editor James Stagg. ‘Celebrating the 40th anniversary of excellence in hospitality has given us the chance to appreciate the outstanding talent in the industry and those who have set the standards that are continually built upon.’

Here is the full list of winners.

  • Foodservice Caterer Award, sponsored by Umbrella Training: Morag Freathy, Eurest
  • Hotel of the Year – Group, sponsored by Pan Pacific London 
  • Best Employer, sponsored by mapal os: Red Carnation Hotel Collection
  • Sustainable Business Award, sponsored by Violife Professional: Red Carnation Hotel Collection 
  • Education and Training Award, sponsored by Liberty Wines: Steve Munkley, Craft Guild of Chefs 
  • Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award, sponsored by Matthew Clark: Romain Bourger, the Vineyard, Berkshire
  • Accessibility Award, sponsored by Blue Badge Access Awards: AbleStay 
  • Public Sector Caterer Award, sponsored by Bidfood: Jayne Jones, Argyll and Bute Council
  • Restaurateur of the Year – Group, sponsored by Entegra: Victor Lugger and Tigrane Seydoux, Big Mamma Group
  • Pub and Bar Award, sponsored by Britvic: Chestnut Group
  • Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by Hotel, Restaurant & Catering: Francisco Macedo, Cliveden House, Berkshire
  • Restaurateur of the Year – Independent, sponsored by Venners: Clare Smyth, CS Hospitality
  • Newcomer Award, sponsored by MPLC: Culinera
  • Menu of the Year Award, sponsored by Commercial Kitchen: Plates, London
  • Best Marketing Campaign Award, sponsored by Amadeus: The Genuine Dining Co (JAAQ Cof ee – Changing Mental Health One Cof ee At A Time) 
  • Best Use of Technology Award, Sponsored by Enhance Hospitality/Logit: The Lowry hotel, Manchester
  • Health and Nutrition Award, sponsored by Brakes: Thomas Franks
  • Chef Award, sponsored by Brakes: Gareth Ward, Ynyshir, Ceredigion
  • Hotel of the Year – Independent, sponsored by Miele: Yorebridge House
  • International Outstanding Achievement Award, sponsored by harri: Jason Atherton
  • Special Award, sponsored by CH&Co: Jeremy Goring
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Britvic: Bill Toner
  • Ruby Award, sponsored by P&O Cruises: Raymond Blanc

Find out more at